MINUTES OF MEETING Full Council HELD ON Monday, 13th November, 2023, 6.30pm – 6.40pm

PRESENT:

Councillors: Gina Adamou, Peray Ahmet, Ibrahim Ali, Emily Arkell, Nicola Bartlett, John Bevan, Barbara Blake, Zena Brabazon, Lester Buxton, Dana Carlin, Lotte Collett, Isidoros Diakides, George Dunstall, Scott Emery, Mike Hakata, Sue Jameson, Adam Jogee, Mary Mason, Sean O'Donovan, Reg Rice, Elin Weston, Sarah Williams and Alexandra Worrell

31. FILMING AT MEETINGS

The Mayor referred to the filming at meetings notice and attendees noted this information.

32. TO RECEIVE APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were apologies for absence from a list of councillors and for speediness these would be advised in the minutes.

Cllr Mark Blake Cllr lyngkaran

Cllr Matt White Cllr Jameson

Cllr Amin Cllr Johnson

Cllr Gordon Cllr Lawton

Cllr Ibrahim Cllr Mahbub

Cllr Amin Cllr Moyeed

Cllr Bartlett Cllr O'Donovan

Cllr Carroll Cllr Peacock

Cllr Cawley- Harrison Cllr Rice

Cllr Chandwani Cllr Rossetti

Cllr Connor Cllr Simmons- Safo

Cllr Culverwell Cllr Stennett

Cllr da Costa

Cllr das Neves



Cllr Diakides

Cllr Dogan

Cllr Elliott

Cllr Grosskopf

Cllr Gunes

Cllr Harrison- Mullane

Cllr Hymas Cllr Isilar Gosling

33. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

34. TO RECEIVE THE REPORT OF THE MONITORING OFFICER AND HEAD OF LEGAL SERVICES

There were no matters to report on.

35. TO CONSIDER REQUESTS TO RECEIVE DEPUTATIONS AND/OR PETITIONS AND, IF APPROVED, TO RECEIVE THEM

There are no deputations, petitions received in relation to the item on the agenda.

36. CHANGES TO POLITICAL COMPOSITION AND SUBSEQUENT CHANGES TO APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES & OUTSIDE BODIES 2023/24

The Chief Executive requested that the Mayor, in accordance with 100B(4)(b) of the Local Government Act 1972, agree to the admission of the attached report as a late item of business as it could not be available earlier and needed to be dealt with at this meeting. This was due to the need to calculate the allocation of seats on ordinary Committees of the Council to accurately reflect the statutory balance rules, following the requisition received to hold this extraordinary meeting.

There was then a further requirement to take into account the formal notification of the new additional political group on the 9th of November. The Committee appointments could only then be finalised with information from the political groups, and this was received earlier today.

The Mayor, for the reasons outlined above, accepted the report as late business.

The Chief Executive introduced the report which set out the recent Council membership changes following the by -election on the 4th of October, changes notified in accordance with 1990 regulation 10b, and further responded to the recent composition of a new political group. This information was set out in the report at paragraphs 1.1 to 1.5.

The consequent impact on the political balance on appointments to committees was set out in the report in section 4. The Chief Executive highlighted that the principles of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, was set out at Paragraph 4.5, and had been closely followed and tested and reasoning also set out at section 4 of the report.

The proposed changes to appointments to committee memberships are set out in the report at paragraphs 4.16 to 4.18.

The Chief Whip MOVED that the recommendations at section 3.1 - items 1 to 10 be agreed.

RESOLVED

- 1. Note the changes to the political balance of the Council set out at paragraph 4.3.
- 2. To note the constitution and membership of the Independent Socialists set out at paragraph 4.2.
- 3. To agree that Cllr Sean O'Donovan will replace Cllr Lotte Collett on Alexandra Palace and Park Board giving effect to the wishes of the political group.
- 4. To agree that Cllr Sean O'Donovan be appointed as Vice Chair of the Alexandra Palace and Park Board giving effect to the wishes of the political group.
- 5. To agree that Cllr Erdan Dogan will replace Cllr Mary Mason on the Audit Committee giving effect to the wishes of the political group.
- 6. To agree that Cllr Erdal Dogan be appointed Chair of the Audit Committee giving effect to the wishes of the political group.
- 7. To agree that Cllr Mark Blake replace Councillor Isidoros Diakides on the Licensing Committee giving effect to the wishes of the political group.
- 8. To agree that Cllr Lotte Collett replace Cllr O'Donovan on the Strategic Planning Committee giving effect to the wishes of the political group.
- 9. To agree that Cllr Mary Mason replace Cllr Ibrahim Ali on the Audit Committee giving effect to the wishes of the political group.
- 10. To agree that Cllr Liam Carroll fill the Labour group vacancy on the General Purposes Committee giving effect to the wishes of the political group.

CHAIR:
Signed by Chair
Date